Celebrating the Ordinary Challenge – Day 2

I’m back! On to Day 2 of Marie’s “Celebrating the Ordinary” Challenge. I am LOVING what I’m reading around the blogosphere! Thanks, Marie…for stirring up all of our creative juices! For more, as well as links to others participating, check out Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer.

 

Yesterday I knew EXACTLY what I wanted to post. Today was harder…but here it is.

I know, “BEES????” Yes, bees. And yes, I’m afraid of them too! But did you know that the last number of years has seen a dramatic drop in the number of bee hives? In addition to honey, bees are responsibility for pollinating major crops and FLOWERS. Can you imagine a world without flowers??

P.S. In the interest of full disclosure, these are obviously not MY images! The only “bee” picture I could take was a dead one, and that was just too sad!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BreastCancerSisterhood.com
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:03:18

    Your last comment reminds me of a line from a Humphrey Bogart movie where Lauren Bacall’s character asks Walter Brennan if he’s ever been bit by a dead bee. http://youtu.be/QSgqrrWyF

    XOXOXO,
    Brenda

    Reply

  2. chemobrainfog
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:14:37

    This is scary…. really really scary….

    Go to my post for today…..

    We are sync’d…. SO DAMN SYNC’d…

    xoxoxox

    Reply

  3. Marie Ennis-O'Connor (@JBBC)
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:50:22

    lovin’ the synchroncity!

    Reply

  4. Renn
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:32:35

    Had to pop over and add that I too am “in sync” (and I didn’t even know it, thanks to AnneMarie for noticing!!)

    PS A picture of a dead bee is OK in my book!

    Reply

  5. Jan Baird Hasak
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:56:26

    It’s incredible how synced you all are, without ever conspiring. I did mention insects in my post yesterday, and was thinking specifically about bees. They just swarmed over our heather and lavender plants around the pool. And they never bothered us while we were swimming. I, too, am sad that their population is diminishing. Thanks for a tribute to these busy little critters. xox

    Reply

Please join the conversation...