Enough Already…

Image

I don’t mean to kvetch – REALLY I don’t! I generally believe the universe is benign, that bad luck is just bad luck, that bad things happen to everyone – not just good people, and that no one is out to get me.

And yet…

I’ve really had enough. A metastatic diagnosis, my husband’s stroke, third-line therapy, some trauma my son suffered. To borrow from the Passover liturgy – dayenu – it would have been enough! And yet today my home was broken into. The worst of it – my housekeeper was here. She was told to lie on the floor of the kitchen, and thank God she was not physically harmed in any way. The dogs are fine. The rest is “stuff.” Some very sentimental stuff – like my husband’s grandmother’s ring – my “something old” when I got married, some pieces that were left to me by my mother-in-law, and the only piece of my own mother’s jewelry that I wanted – a Star of David purchased on our first trip to Israel 35 years ago. I am deeply sad, and can’t believe I will never hold those things again – but they are things.

I do not yet have that sense of being violated, my space being invaded, unsafe in my own home. I may, I may not. Zach is feeling some of that, despite knowing that the front door – which was kicked in by the thieves – is reinforced more strongly that it was before. They were in his room, his oasis, his safe place. I get it.

So it sucks, and we will eventually get a list of most of what was lost and we will take care of business, as we must.

But here’s the thing – it occurs to me that “Enough already…” only ever applies to the shitty things in life. I’ve yet to hear anyone say “I’ve had enough good in my life, it’s someone else’s turn; that life has been too good or too sweet or more than they deserved. When did it happen that we became entitled to “easy street”? No one promised it would be easy.

My housekeeper is safe. My dogs are okay. I wasn’t ever promised even that. People talk about how dangerous the world has become. And to wit, it can be dangerous out there. Then again, we don’t generally fear for lions and tigers and bears. The dangers today are different. We – people – have, perhaps, become the dangerous animal of once-upon-a-time.

It’s enough already. Really, it is. But I don’t get a bye any more more than anyone else, and perhaps, like the flip of a coin, the odds are the same each and every time. It doesn’t seem to matter how many times in a row I get tails, the next toss is still 50/50.

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. seaglassinthemidst
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 18:30:10

    Lori!

    😦 I’m SO sorry and yes—ENOUGH ALREADY!! I’m so glad everyone is safe and though it’s true that it’s only “stuff”, it’s just such a slimy violation … utter suckfest.

    Praying for sanity in this insane world.

    xoxo Nicole

    Reply

    • Lori
      Mar 06, 2014 @ 18:31:44

      OMG – LOVE “utter suckfest” – how perfect! Yes, that is EXACTLY what this is. And now my next glass of wine. THANK YOU, my dear! XOX

      Reply

  2. dorisannprice
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 18:54:56

    OY!

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 20:35:26

    Oh Lori, my darling friend, may Hashem turn things around as it says in the month of Adar, and may Hashem only rain down on you Brachos! I love you!!!
    Love, Faygie

    Reply

  4. Susan
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 21:10:10

    I am so sorry. Absolutely “utter suckfest” and dayenu. How utterly upsetting. I am glad you are safe, but this just isn’t right. It’s time for the coin to start landing on the right side. xoxo _ Susan

    Reply

  5. Marsha
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 21:53:37

    Holy #%^*!!!! How scary. I am so sorry. I am so glad that nobody was hurt, dogs included. Yes. Enough is enough. Xoxo

    Reply

    • Lori
      Mar 07, 2014 @ 14:56:44

      Beyond everyone’s safety, there is a part of me that is having a hard time even taking this seriously. There is SO much other stuff going on that actually matters! Thank you – love you!

      Reply

  6. The Accidental Amazon
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 22:08:13

    Those miserable twats! Your poor housekeeper!! As if you weren’t already looking over your shoulder. Enough already! Massive hugs.

    Reply

  7. mainelyhopeful
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 05:17:31

    Oh no! I’m so sorry. You have certainly been tested more than your fair share.

    Reply

  8. Catherine
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 06:17:16

    I so sorry to hear your home was robbed. Sounds horrible. I’m glad your family & housekeeper are all okay.

    Reply

    • Lori
      Mar 07, 2014 @ 15:00:29

      Thank you, Cathrine. It hasn’t been fun, and I’m curious whether I’ll ever remember all of the things they managed to get, but some key items were missed – like my engagement ring, which was on my nightstand and a credit card that was on my husband’s. They looked through both drawers but missed what was on top. Not so bright…

      Reply

  9. Kathleen Hoffman, PhD
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 06:47:14

    I’m so very sorry that you have been through so much! Healing prayer to all.

    Reply

  10. Bonnie
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 11:54:50

    I really couldn’t believe it when I saw your post …”this too!!” What a nightmare! I’m so glad everyone (4-legged and 2-legged) is OK except for the shock and violation.

    Reply

    • Lori
      Mar 07, 2014 @ 15:03:05

      Thank you Bonnie! It is a bit crazy, isn’t it? Alarm system is going in next week, and it will all be well! It is a hassle we did NOT need, but this too shall pass.

      Reply

  11. Marie Ennis-O'Connor (@JBBC)
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 12:02:29

    Oh Lori, no! I can’t believe it – as if you haven’t enough on your plate! I am so sorry to hear this – wishing you some good luck now to even things out xxxxx

    Reply

  12. Renn
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 12:10:30

    Lori, I am horrified that this happened to you. That is very scary for you and for your family (and for your housekeeper). I’m sorry to hear they took such personal and meaningful things. I know it’s only “stuff” but it’s *your* stuff. Special stuff. It doesn’t mean anything to those robbers, which makes it hurt all the more.

    All I can say is Karma kicks ass and the people who stole from you will deep what they sow.

    You and your family are deserving of sunshine and lollipops and moonbeams forever! Seriously. Enough is enough! {{{hugs}}}

    Reply

  13. karen sutherland
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 20:43:49

    oh, Lori – I could hardly believe what I was reading. I am SO sorry. your poor housekeeper must have been frightened witless. I am so angry that things have just been piled on and piled on some more in such a wretched way. I will hold your family, your housekeeper, and your doggies close to my heart as you recover from this latest trauma. and Lori, I know it feels beyond lousy, but you have done nothing to deserve any of this! sending loads of warm hugs your way.

    Reply

    • Lori
      Mar 07, 2014 @ 21:48:20

      Thank you so much, my sweet friend. While I’m not owning this, I must admit I’m getting weary. But things are details, and what matters is our safety. Xoxo

      Reply

  14. Lynne Kalberg
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 05:50:00

    Lori, I am so blessed to be able to follow the lives of my former students. While being devastated by the mountains you have had to climb, I am so proud of your outlook on life. Much love, and prayers for you and yours, hon.

    Reply

  15. Trackback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer
  16. Scorchy
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 20:52:13

    Holy shit, Lori! Your poor housekeeper, your beloved things, the pups! I am grateful that everyone is safe, but I am so sad that your space was filthified and the physical manifestation of treasured memories were taken. It must be very difficult to be going through this, but I know you have lots of support to get you through it. Love you, kid. xoxo

    Reply

  17. Kate, of Kate Has Cancer
    Mar 09, 2014 @ 09:09:38

    I too have been feeling like enough is enough. I struggle with the ‘it’s not fair’ angle, foolishly.. Thank you for reminding me it is, each time, a flip of the coin, that I have been blessed over and over.

    I am relieved no one was physically injured in the robbery. Too bad what was lost was so meaningful. All the best to you and your family.

    Reply

  18. Adena
    Mar 09, 2014 @ 12:33:48

    Just not fair period. That’s all I can say.

    Reply

Please join the conversation...